General Facts


Which are Lesotho’s public holidays?

                                             Day                                  Date

New Year’s Day                         Wednesday           01 January 2014           

Moshoeshoe’s Day                     Tuesday                 11 March 2014             

Good Friday                               Friday                   18 April 2014 

Easter Monday                           Monday                 21 April 2014 

Worker's Day                             Thursday               01 May 2014 


What is the Government Structure?

The Government of Lesotho is a constitutional monarchy. The Prime Minister, who is the Executive Authority, leads the Government. The King serves more as a ceremonial icon and does not actively participate in political initiatives. The National Assembly is the lower house of parliament which is controlled by the coalition of parties, namely; All Basotho Convention (ABC), Lesotho Congress for Democracy (LCD) and Basutoland National Party (BNP). The Assembly represents Democratic Congress (DC), National Independent Party, Lesotho Workers Party and other minority parties.


What is the population of Lesotho?

According to the 2006 population census conducted by the Bureau of Statistics in Lesotho, the population of Lesotho has been estimated at around 1,872,721.


What is the Capital City of Lesotho?

The capital city of Lesotho is Maseru. It is also a town of the Maseru district.


How is Lesotho geographically divided?

Lesotho is divided into 3 geographic regions;

  • Lowlands, following the southern banks of the Caledon river and in the Senqu river valley
  • Highlands, formed by the Drakensberg and Maluti Mountain ranges in the east and central parts of the country
  • Foothills, form a divide between lowlands and highlands

Lesotho is also divided into 10 administrative districts, each district with its own town. The districts are further subdivided into 80 constituencies, which consist of 129 local community councils.


Where is Lesotho?

Lesotho is located in Southern Africa, at the bottom of Africa. It is surrounded by the Republic of South Africa. It is found around 29º30' south latitude and 28 º 30’ east longitudes. It has a total land area of 30,355 square kilometres.


About LNDC

The Lesotho National Development Corporation (LNDC) is the main parastatal of the Government of Lesotho charged with the implementation of the country’s industrial development policies.

“The mandate of the Corporation is to initiate, promote and facilitate the development of manufacturing and processing industries, mining and commerce in a manner calculated to raise the level of income and employment in Lesotho.”  more...

Contact us

Lesotho National Development Corporation
Block A, Development House, Kingsway Street
Maseru, Lesotho, 100

Stay Connected

Remote EMAIL Access